Sharon Squire — 2018 Heintz­man Lead­er­ship Award Winner

The Institute for Citizen-Centred Service’s (ICCS) Heintzman Leadership Award is a national award presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership within the Canadian public sector in the promotion of citizen-centred service delivery. In particular, recipients of the Award have demonstrated superior and sustained leadership that has resulted in transformational change to the quality of public sector service delivery, both within their own jurisdictions and across jurisdictional boundaries. Past winners representing all three orders of government include: Art Daniels, Dave Millar, Lori MacMullen, Brian Marson, Andrew Mellor, Scott Campbell, Roy Wiseman, Bob Stark, Sue Corke, David Szwarc, Dan Batista, Deborah Lipscombe, David Bennett, Frank D’Onofrio and Bette-Jo Hughes.

The ICCS is proud to announce Sharon Squire as the 2018 Heintzman Leadership Award winner in recognition of her substantial contribution to the promotion of and commitment to citizen-centred service delivery in Canada.

Sharon is an experienced executive in the Federal public service with expertise in service design, delivery and policy, social media engagement and public service management. Sharon has held executive roles in the Deputy Ombudsman, Office of the Veterans’ Ombudsman, Treasury Board Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer. Sharon is an innovator who strives to find leading edge solutions to current and future issues.

Sharon’s extensive experience and dedication in promoting collaboration across all levels of government as well as within the federal public service, sets her apart. Sharon served as a member of the Institute for Citizen-Centred Service for a decade and continues to serve as a Board Advisor. Sharon also served as a member of the Public Sector Service Delivery Council from 2008 – 2014, working closely with public service leaders from other federal departments, provinces and municipalities.

In the federal public service, Sharon established and served as the Secretariat to the GC DM and ADM Service Delivery and Federated Identity Committees. One of Sharon’s key transformational achievements was developing a vision to support the federal government’s drive to e-services through the innovative GC Service Policy. This policy served as the basis for the first GC Service Strategy.

As Deputy Ombudsman for the Veterans Ombudsman, Sharon leads a national tertiary call centre which addresses complaints and provides information and referrals to Veterans and their families. Sharon continues to demonstrate leadership in the development of a citizen-centred culture, implementing many digital enhancements to improve service delivery to veterans in this country.

In recognition of her outstanding, innovative and transformational leadership in promoting citizen-centred approaches to service delivery, the Institute for Citizen-Centred Service is proud to award Sharon Squire the 2018 Heintzman Leadership Award.